Follow your (Basic) Instinct. Script Fiesta 2014.

As I have mentioned before I was honoured to assist during the screenwriting festival that took place in Warsaw in April. Apart from just helping out in general I got a job of a “nanny” of the two festival VIPs guests  – Jeff Schechter and his wife as well as Joe Eszterhas and his family.

No pressure here.

Obviously it’s not a big deal to pick someone up from the railway station or the airport, especially if you just have to walk them to their car and the driver is taking care of the rest. Then, you just help them out whenever they need you – doing some research, calling the places they want to visit etc. Seriously, not a big deal at all. But at first you have some silly thoughts that maybe because they’ve got the huge careers (I mean, Mr Eszterhas mostly) they’re not like any other human beings. But hell, they are. There are very funny ones as well.

The festival itself was a great fun despite not being able to fully attend all the workshops and lectures. Last year I was just an ordinary attendee, but I think that this year, even though I was running around everywhere, the festival was more fruitful for me.

A simple dinner with Mr and Mrs Eszterhas turned out to be a great, great experience.  They’re both absolutely amazing people. Both in the different ways. It’s pretty surprising when you sort of start bonding a bit with the people who you actually consider your mentors or the walking legends. Joe asked me if I would be ready to leave to LA any minute (for the career purposes). He was also able to guess my answer. There is a part of me that packs the suitcase and is ready to leave and there is no sense of fear that can stop me. There is also the other part, which keeps me here, close to the people I care about. “You’re too dedicated to your family”. I mean, yes, I am not gonna argue with him. Mostly, because it’s probably true. However, he gave me a beautiful advice. I am not going to say what was it, because it’s one of those personal things that I like to keep to myself. But he finished it with the phrase: “Follow your instinct. Your basic instinct”. Then I said “Well, better not”. We laughed. A lot.

I started coming to the conclusion ( and maybe it’s not very revealing) that in this case not even what I am currently doing but who I am doing it with is more important for my future. I feel like my industry is people, but in this case “who you know” means something a little bit different. Something more like “what can they teach you”.

Now, my brain and my heart are enjoying the Off Camera Film Festival. I am spending about 6 hours in the cinema = I am having a blast.

Standard

Leave a comment